Cedarhurst is a village in Nassau County, on the South Shore of Long Island, New York, in the USA. The population was 6,591 at the 2010 United States Census. The village is named after a grove of trees that once stood at the post office. The Incorporated Village of Cedarhurst is in the town of Hempstead. Cedarhurst's early name was Ocean Point. Rail service arrived in 1869 which led people to the area, especially to the Rockaway Hunting Club, built in Cedarhurst in 1878. A post office was established in 1884, and Ocean Point was renamed Cedarhurst, partly at the request of the Hunt Club. The village of Cedarhurst is about 15 Km from the City of New York, it is also close to the beaches and countryside of Long Island.