Pierrefonds is a former city in southwestern Quebec, Canada. It is located along the Rivière des Prairies on the northwestern part of the Island of Montreal. It was merged into Montreal on January 1, 2002, and is today part of the borough of Pierrefonds-Roxboro. Its origin dates back to the eighteenth century, and is intimately linked to that of Sainte-Geneviève, which was composed at the time of Pierrefonds, L'Île-Bizard, Sainte-Geneviève, Roxboro and Dollard-des-Ormeaux. Inspired by an engraving of the feudal Castle of Pierrefonds in Oise, France, in 1902 Joseph-Adolphe Chauret (a fiery notary) built a turreted, gabled residence with the inscription Château de Pierrefonds on two of its socles.